Weekly Photo Challenge: Friendship (Poppy’s Predecessor)

Four weeks ago today my beloved Chow/Labrador Retriever mix Madam Lasagna (a.k.a. Lei Lei) died due to complications from diabetes. I love my sweet little Poppy Seed, and yet I miss the ready companionship of my old dear friend. I wanted to share this last photo of her taken 6 days earlier. Even blind and feeble she remained a devoted friend, staying close and enjoying our daily activities. All of you who have loved a pet understand my feelings tonight.

About Wayside Artist

Lost in a field ...
This entry was posted in Dogs, Pets, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Friendship (Poppy’s Predecessor)

  1. Merlin says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. We had to put our Border Collie, Laddie, down last July due to cancer. While we are learning to love our new English Springer Spaniel, Bella, Laddie will forever define those 13 years of our lives and we still miss him. May you find peace in the good memories of Madam Lasagna and renewed excitement for life in raising Poppy Seed.

  2. Some dogs are special and do richly define a decade or so in our lives. Sounds like Laddie did for you as Madam L did for me. Bella has good folks to share her life with. Thanks so much for your kind wishes, Merlin.

  3. Bosun Dawg says:

    She was a beautiful girl. May she rest in peace. She will remain in your heart forever.

  4. I am so sorry for your loss, what a beautiful girl! It is never easy to lose our dear friends.

    I look forward to watching little Poppy grow 🙂

    Thank you for stopping by and following my blog!

    • Thank you for you kind words. I still, and probably will for a long time, miss my lovely Madam L. She was a special one, but this pup reminds me so much of her. It’s corny, but I almost feel like Madam picked Poppy out for me. 🙂
      Your blog is lovely. I have loved Chessies for a long time, but can’t give them the exercise and water play that they need. I’ll enjoy reading about yours!!

  5. I am so sorry for your loss of lovely Madam L, but IMO she is with you still, maybe in the guise of little Poppy.

    • Thank you for you kind words. It means a great deal to me! I truly think the wonderful Madam L picked this one out for me. Already Poppy does a number of things that I believed unique to Madam, including napping in the hosta beds. Makes me feel less at loss and I smile more. 🙂 Thanks for visiting, and I appreciate the work you put into your blog.

Poppy checks her pee mail daily, so bark out loud!

