Well? Walks or Naps?

Poor Miss Poppy Seed, like my blog, is suffering from neglect. Not serious, just indifference from an illness induced lassitude. Over the past three weeks I’ve felt increasingly ill, fatigued, and in pain. Finally a trip to the doc and tests on several vials of blood revealed I have Lyme disease. Caught early enough, as in my case, it’s completely curable with a course of the antibiotic doxycycline. In the meantime, I struggle with multiple joint pain and exhaustion. My posts for a time will be sporadic, but I’ll continue to read all of your wonderful blogs even if I’m not commenting as much.

How about a Miss Poppy update? Today marks 4 weeks for Poppy and me. Pops visited the vet on Thursday for vaccinations…one final round to go in 3 weeks time. She gained 2 lbs. Her disposition is sweet, but spunky with a little sass thrown in. Excavating the garden is her favorite activity. I always laugh when she digs a hole for a rawhide chew, gleefully burying it with her muzzle. So far she learned “sit up,” “sit,” “down,” “off,” “leave it,” “shake,” “high-five,” “kisses,” and “bang.” We’re working on “come” and “wait,” though she will sit and wait at a corner before crossing the street. And she lets me know with a bark when she needs to go “outside.” Finally, she sits on the step near the door before going out or if someone rings the bell, though all bets are off if the person enters. Pops goes wild with happiness to meet a new face. Tomorrow I’ll drag myself out of bed early to take her to an hour-long free puppy class at the local PetValu store to play with pups close to her age. Sounds like fun, but I better bring a folding chair for me!

Pops strapped in for a trip to the veterinarian.

July is already here! Hope everyone enjoys a great summer or mild winter depending on your part of the world!!!

About Wayside Artist

Lost in a field ...
This entry was posted in Dogs, Pets, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Well? Walks or Naps?

  1. So sorry to hear about your illness, I pray you will have a speedy recovery.

    I love the photos of Poppy, she sure is a cutie!!

  2. Hope you feel better soon.

  3. Oh, be careful with Lyme. I studied it extensively. You may want to go on the antibiotics longer. I’m glad they caught it early. Sending you healing thoughts. Hope you are feeling 100% soon. 🙂 Sam

  4. Clowie says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that you are unwell and I hope that you’re feeling better soon. Thanks for your comment on my blog – look in your comment list for my email address and feel free to get in touch that way.

  5. I am so very sorry to hear about your illness but it sounds like you are on the right track with the treatment and rest. How difficult to have a brand new baby whose full of herself when you don’t feel fell! Hopefully, you will be better soon! It’s no fun having zero energy and sometimes the meds make you feel bad, too – but you will survive, as Donna Summer promised! Take care of yourself so you can take care of that adorable Poppy, too!!! The Red Man sends you his best Paw Snaps!!

    • Thank you! I’ve been feeling bad for Poppy because she’s wants to play and explore. But she’s proving to be a sensitive little girl. Hugs to you, Red Man and all the rest. 😀 Already I am starting to feel better. 😀

  6. Merlin says:

    Oh no, sorry about the Lyme Disease. Take care of yourself! Every time I see Poppy Seed’s picture in my reader I smile.

  7. stanzebla says:

    I hope you feel better soon.

  8. Sorry you are unwell and we will keep you in our prayers for a speedy recovery. Poppy is just the cutest little thing! Just want to rush over and hug her. Hats off to you for such excellent training. She sounds fantastic. So many commands for such a little poppette.

    • Aw, thank you so much for your good thoughts and prayers. I appreciate it and know it will help me recover faster!!! Poppy is so smart I have to keep a few steps ahead of her. She picks up commands and tricks quickly. If you ever make it over here, your welcome to visit! 😀

  9. James Dunn says:

    Get well soon! Your dog is sooo cute

  10. Chancy and Mumsy says:

    Now aren’t you just adorable!! Thanks for stopping by Chancy’s blog. Hugs and nose kisses

Poppy checks her pee mail daily, so bark out loud!

