Ma Is a Crafty One!

Yesterday, after being the best pup for 48 hours during the hurricane, Ma announced she had enough of my nonsense and was walking me, bum leg or not, down to the corner. Though I’ve never seen a city block, Ma says it’s about 1 1/2 blocks from our house to the next road. Not far enough for me, but dragging a limping, shuffling monkey at the other end of my leash IS good exercise. When we got there, I smelled a fragrant smell and did what any pup worth four paws would do – I rolled in it. Now I thought Ma was going to scold again, but she laughed instead. Didn’t even threaten me with a bath. Hmm…

If Ma’s not gonna scold, what fun is rolling in stinky stuff, so I moved on to this cool toy I found. It smelled pungent. Blue cheese! Oh what a perfume!!! I looked up, but Ma had the camera out. She didn’t say a cross word. Laughed some more, though, and told me to come along. Ha! I carried my prize in my jaws.

Stopped a few times to chew the edges.

I planned to bring the toy into the house to investigate the odors and flavors further, but ya know what? Ma laughed, broke my concentration with liver treat, snapped up the toy, then TOSSED IT IN THE RECYCLE BIN!!! Helplessly I watched as the lid crashed down. Wow! Tricked again. Ma is a crafty one!

About Wayside Artist

Lost in a field ...
This entry was posted in Dogs, Humor, Pets, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ma Is a Crafty One!

  1. Humans are good at spoiling our fun!

  2. Mollie says:

    Wow, you find stinky cheese on your walks, how fab is that 🙂 xx00xx
    Mollie and Alfie
    Stay safe 🙂

  3. Hahahaha…very funny!! Loved the bait and switch trick, too!! 🙂

  4. Bongo says:

    My person does that to me too. Takes my treasures and tosses them.

  5. Dalton says:

    Why would she do that to you when you were being so helpful?! No respect!!

  6. Glad to hear you are safe and made it through the hurricane. That first photo is just too cute! Mean Mom, stealing your well deserved blue cheese container. And to think, you’d carried it all that way! Tut, tut!

  7. Angelia Sims says:

    That was some prize! Bet it smelled fabulous. LOL.

  8. Mag (Chancy's Mumsy) says:

    Awww, sweet Poppy no matter what you roll in or what you do nothing keeps you from being adorable!!!

  9. Clowie says:

    They’re so crafty these bipeds!

Poppy checks her pee mail daily, so bark out loud!

