Making Up

I felt a short lived tinge of remorse over backsliding in the potty department yesterday. So I made up to Ma this morning by learning a new trick all on my own-some.

Newspaper 1

Every Saturday and Sunday someone throws a cool dog toy…er…newspaper onto the end of our driveway. Parsimonious Old Lady Nana only pays for the weekend paper. Ma says the paper’s a waste anyway, and only fit to line The Nemesis’* cage. Still, she carries it into the house and looks it over. So, I think, “Why don’t I help?”

Poppy Tackles the Paper

Poppy Tackles the Paper 2

It’s a lot of work dragging a paper to the porch step!

Poppy Tackles the Paper 3

I had to stop to chew off more of the plastic wrap as it was slippery. 😉

Poppy Tackles the Paper 4

I tried backing up the porch step dragging the paper. That worked.

Poppy Tackles the Paper 5

Finally! Inside! Brought a couple of leaves in too, but Ma was so impressed she gave me THREE Hollywood Stars Liver Treats!!! Woo, hoo! Guess I’m outta the doghouse.
***

*”The Nemesis” is Ma’s 23 year old Nanday Conure named “Florabelle,” a.k.a., “Flo.” Queen of the House, and a hideous, loud, biting thing.

The Nemesis

About Wayside Artist

Lost in a field ...
This entry was posted in Dogs, Humor, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Making Up

  1. Well that sure makes up for the Potty thing..BOL, you are so clever Poppy..We like Flo 🙂
    Have a great Saturday 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. That Poppy is hysterical!! I loved the pictures of her with the paper – the little girl is working you…:) I hope she doesn’t become a female version of The Red Man! If so, God help you!

  3. Chancy and Mumsy (Mag) says:

    Wow!!! That is a great trick to learn all on your own sweet Poppy. You deserved all those treats. Good job!!! Florabelle is a pretty green, does she talk to you? We hope she don’t bite you. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Thank you! Now Ma will expect a repeat performance. :p
      Flo maybe pretty, but she has a loud mouth. Ma says since I arrived Flo learned to say something that sounds like, “POPPY! Stop it now!” Geez! And yes, she bites me, on account of me sticking my nose in her cage. I’m usually just lookin’ 😀

  4. Dalton says:

    Looks like your learning, misbehave then do something good and they forgive you!!

  5. Well, I think you’re being a bit hard on Flo who I believe looks gorgeous. However, you, what a clever trick you’ve learnt. You even thought your way through the problems of slippery plastic and stairs – clever little thing!

  6. Such a help pup.
    Be nice to Flo, she’s an old lady.

  7. Nylabluesmum says:

    24 yearz old…diz Flo birdie gonna be around fer a long time!!! MOL….you iz a brave doggie fer livin wif a big bird….me put me paw down about me Mum adoptin a Ring neck parrot….peepin fing screechez az loud az a siren n won’t learn to talk…me sayz MUM NO WAY…whew…me waz worried fer a bit tho’…
    Now she wantz a budgie but me likez to stalk small birdiez so dat not gonna happen either…fer now….
    BTW you iz bery clever to bring da paper to the Hu’man…maybe me should learn a trick like dat?? ~Nylablue.

    • oh yeah! Ma says that types a real loud screecher. Nylablue, you are such a special kitty that you deserve to be number one all the time, forever! 😀 Thanks for stoppin’ by our blog. You’re one cool cat! 😀

  8. Clowie says:

    What a clever thing to do!

  9. Poppy is soooo cute in his lil sweater! And wow that’s unfortunate his nemesis is a big that is going to live a very long time! Have you had her all her 23 years?! That is crazy to think that she is as old as me!

    • Yes, I’ve had Flo since she was 6 months old! Amazing, huh?!!! She’s known 5 dogs, including Poppy, and at least that many cats over the years, oh and 1 canary who lived to be 12 years old. My one niece is your age, and can’t remember coming to see me without Flo in the background. Poppy does wear her sweaters well!!! Thanks

      • Wow, I think your have a green thumb when it comes to birdies. I had one, it was a cockateil, but he died at 9 due to attempting to fly once in his cage, we had his wings clipped, and I guess they had grown back for so long before that he figured he could still fly like he used to and ended up breaking his neck. I was distraught for a very long time, as he was really my best friend. Anyways though I think Kirby and Poppy can both bond over the face that their two little dogs that must wear a sweater or two now and again. 🙂

        • Oh, I’m sorry about your ‘teil. They make such good pets, but they are known for developing “terrors” where they fly wildly around their cages. I think that may have happened in your bird’s case. Sometimes they break a long tail or wing feather close to the body which can cause them to bleed to death.

          Yes, our pups have people who like to see them in sweaters or two or three!!! They can commiserate! 😀

Poppy checks her pee mail daily, so bark out loud!

