Merry Christmas!!!

Over the past few weeks, Ma enjoyed looking at lots of pictures of dogs and cats posing in front of  Christmas trees. Yesterday, she thought to get an “official” Christmas photo of me in front of our puny little tree. I was more than willing to accept the chicken bribes…er, bits, but couldn’t sit still.

DSCN5315

Oops! Almost Ma!

DSCN5314

I’m not really scared in the photo above, just wishing she’d hurry up with the treat delivery.

DSCN5319

So here you have it. Me. Miss Poppy Seed in my Christmas Sweater in front of the Christmas Galvanized Bucket and Christmas Tote Bag. Blurry of course!

Ma’s been doing it up for the cats and me this holiday. She made a batch of Tuna Treats* last night. They should be just for me, but I’m going to have to bite the bullet and share with the dumb white-footed cats and Stripes the Piggy Cat. The Nemesis won’t touch the stuff, but get this – Ma is giving a bag of Tuna Treats to my miserable cousin Wilberforce the Pit Bull. I’m not allowed to visit him as he’s jealous of me and tries to bite me. Ma,  the traitor, adores Wills all the same and has Christmas gifts for him, including MY quickly diminishing supply of Tuna Treats.

DSCN5352     DSCN5102

Miss Dana White Foot the Pizzelle Eating Cat, Miss Poppy Seed, the Nemesis, The Other Cats and Ma wish you and yours a Merry Christmas!!!

***

*Ma’s Recipe for Tuna Treats

2 cans of tuna in water (don’t drain)

1 tablespoon of olive oil (For God’s Sake don’t use the extra virgin stuff – what a waste!)

2 tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese or locatelli cheese

1/2 cup of flour (may not use all of it)

___

Turn the oven on to 375 F

Grease a brownie tin or place parchment paper on a cookie sheet.

Use your hands to mix the tuna, olive oil, cheese, and half of the flour in a bowl.

The mixture should look and feel like cookie dough.  Slowly add more flour if needed to reach that consistency.

Press into the pan or onto the parchment paper. There’s no need to get obsessive about neatness.

Bake for 20 minutes.

After it cools, cut into little pieces and store in a plastic tub in the refrigerator.

If you want, after cutting the treats you can put them back into the oven at a low temperature for 15 minutes to harden the treats. Then they become Tuna Biscotti!!! 😀

___

Enjoy my four-legged friends. They stink like heaven!

About Wayside Artist

Lost in a field ...
This entry was posted in Dogs, Humor, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Merry Christmas!!!

  1. Nylabluesmum says:

    Yow Poppy Seed me did not know you shared your Hu’Mum wif catz! Me knowz we can be a pawfull fer doggiez! Yer Mum iz a guud Hu’Man makin treatz fer everybody. Diz showz she iz kind n generuss! Me getz all jealous too when me Mum buyz giftz fer da cuss-inz n da doggie fur-endz but me iz secretly proud of her fer being so kind…
    You iz stylin in yer sweater n so cute; me could just kiss yer cute little nose…
    Pleeze tell Miss Dana she iz lookin fine in her piccy n me wishez all of you a very Merry Catmas. Lub Nylablue n her Mum.

    • Thank you so much sweet Nylablue. I know Ma would make you a batch of tuna treats if you lived closer. She loves to feed her furkids and furfriends!!! 😀 Miss Dana will be glad to hear from another cat, as I’ve been kinda of mischievous as Christmas approaches and have chased her around the house more than usual. But secretly, Nylablue, Dana likes to play with me.

      Holiday blessings to you and your Hu-Mum. We are ALWAYS glad to hear from you!!

      Poppy and Ma (and Dana too).

      • Nylabluesmum says:

        Eeoww Poppy n Dana…me wuud hab truuble eating dem treatz cause me haz no teefiez….but da thought iz lubly!!! Me cuss-in Nigeria Kitteh sent LUVS chicken flavor home n dey iz soft n me lubz dem all right!!!
        We had a guud hollyday but me iz glad da Mum iz home so me can chase her about too 😉
        Hu’Manz do like to play; dey just purrtend to not be ineterested!!! YOW!!
        All da best fer 2013 frum Nylablue n Mum Sherri-Ellen.

        • Aw, Nylablue I forgot you would have trouble with the treats. They smell heavenly. Ma gives them to her oldest cat Maera who only has a couple of teeth left. The treats are soft and only get hard if you bake them a second time. Anyway, Ma shreds them up for Maera as she doesn’t have a good appetite. It’s always the best when our people are home with us. I hate when Ma goes out. Hugs!!! Now on to the next big HOLIDAY! NEW YEARS!!!

  2. My mummy had the same trouble trying to get me to pose in front of the tree,
    Love your antler jumper/hat!

  3. Aha Miss Poppy…you are one lucky Pup to have a Ma that makes treats for all at Christmas!! Don’t you just hate SHARING?? Your Christmas pictures are fabulous, Missy Prissy, because you are the BOMB!! Merry Ho Ho, Sugar!! Hugs and Kisses, The Red Man

    • Aw, shucks, Red Man!!! You are the best! No one understands me like you do. I mean, SHARE? At Christmas? It’s all about me!!! Well and you, too 😀 I hope your peeps let you out of the clink for the Big Day. Love you my favorite terrier man! 😀 Poppy

  4. Dalton says:

    I can’t believe she is sharing your treats!! but maybe santa will see this as a good reflection on you – that you are willing to share, and so you will get lots of extra gifts!!

  5. stanzebla says:

    Merry Christmas to you too! You got a very nice Christmas sweater there. 🙂

  6. Angelia Sims says:

    So cute!!!!! And adorable sweater. I will have to try those tuna treats. My dogs would love them.

Poppy checks her pee mail daily, so bark out loud!

