Some Groundhog Day Fun

Yesterday, Pennsylvania’s famous rodent, ol’ Punxsutawney Phil, forecast an early end to winter, but the groundhog under our shed woke (if the lazy thing even opened its eyes!!!) to a sunny morning. In Pennsylvania German varmint prognostication terms that means winter ends in 6 weeks. I just hope that nasty, smelly pest pops out of its den long enough for your Popster to send it to whistle-pig heaven. Now Ma, without media fanfare, stuck her long  nose out the back door determining it was cold enough to make a trip to the dog park with reasonable certainty the ground would be frozen. No mud. No muddy Poppy to bathe for the fourth time in as many weeks. I appreciated her consideration.

My usual Saturday morning friends Buddy and Luna were missing, but I quickly made new paw pals.

Can you tell where I start and Lilly ends?

Can you tell where I start and Lilly ends?

Oops!  Guess Ma was wrong about the mud. Looks like Lilly gets a bath.

Oops! Guess Ma was wrong about the mud. Looks like Lilly will be getting a bath.

Whoa, Nellie! You're next up in the bath tub my pretty poodle friend.

Whoa, Nellie! You’re next up in the bath tub my pretty poodle friend.

Nellie and Lilly are both 4 months old. We were soon joined by a 4 year old miniature schnauzer, but I didn't catch her name. She went a few rounds with us, but decided sniffing was more her speed.

Nellie and Lilly are both 4 months old. We were soon joined by a 4-year-old miniature schnauzer, but I didn’t catch her name. She went a few rounds with us, then decided sniffing was more her speed.

Ma has a knack for catching animals in compromising situations! You should see her collection of whitetail deer "elimination" photos. Yeah, right Ma! It's accidental. ;)

Ma has a knack for catching animals in compromising situations! You should see her collection of whitetail deer “elimination” photos. Yeah, right Ma! It’s accidental! 😉

We all played well together until a Boston Terrier showed up. Wow! Did she have an attitude! As soon as she entered the pen, she went after the babies Nellie and Lilly. Gave poor Lilly a real fright. Well, I was having none of that! I keep getting invited back to Puppy Club because I know how to play with my peers. I adjusted that Boston Bully’s attitude. When she interrupted our game of tag, attacking Lilly again, I knocked her over on her side and kept her there. Ma was proud of me. But Nellie’s mom and Ma decided it was time to go. Lilly’s dad was into “encouraging” her to “toughen up” instead of intervening and protecting her. He and the Boston’s man were laughing. He called out to Ma, “I hope we didn’t chase you off.” Ma said, “I don’t have anything to prove.” It WAS time to leave.

A joyful run around the park!

A joyful run around the park!

Oh, and I didn’t need a bath!!! It was so cold the mud dried. Ma gave me a good brushing in the afternoon. The Popster is good as new!

 

 

 

About Wayside Artist

Lost in a field ...
This entry was posted in Dogs, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Some Groundhog Day Fun

  1. Don’t you just hate that , when some one with attitude turns up and spoils the fun ! What funtaztic photo’z xxxx00xxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Poppy Seed says:

      I sure do Mollie. We were having such fun. Ma was angry with the man for letting his dog have bad manners – especially with puppies! Thanks for your thoughts 🙂 Hugs!!!

  2. stanzebla says:

    Very nice report of your visit to the dog park. We can’t tell where you start and where Lilly ends, you look like some kind of yin and yang – symbol.

  3. Oh, Miss Poppy, The Red Man always enoys your visit to the Pup Park and as usual, you are looking fine. You and Lilly look like you have such a good time together, and this makes us all happy to see. I was so happy I did Paw Snaps and Twirls…until I found out a Big Bully arrived and you had to reprimand her. They’d better be glad The Red Man wasn’t around or he would’ve given her what for and God help them if the old woman Slow had been there. She loses her sense of humor in a flash when it comes to jumping on the pups. She and your Ma would make a good team! Enjoy your Sunday and let’s hope the skanky Ground Hog doesn’t know a thing about winter!

    • Poppy Seed says:

      Red Man, I wish you and Slow were at the Dog Park. It would be so much fun to have you there, and Ma would appreciate someone backing her up. The man was worse than the Bully Dog, because he thought it was funny. Thanks for your support Red!

  4. msbdonofrio says:

    Dear Poppy, I am so proud of you for coming to Lilly’s defense, There is no room for bullys in a dog park. AND you stayed clean !! Love, Aunt Barbara

    • Poppy Seed says:

      No indeed! Like bullies in the playground, it spoils the fun and frightens the sweet ones. And yes! I stayed clean. Ma said it was a miracle!!! 🙂 Love you Aunt Barbara 🙂

  5. Jim says:

    Ha I laughed so hard… the Popster sending that varmint to whistle-pig heaven… ha ha. Yeah and guys and their dogs, I can’t believe he wanted to “toughen up” his pooch. No understanding of how dogs work or the rules of the pack, pshaw! Good too that the Popster was clean with a brushing! (I never heard of whistle-pig heaven… do pigs really whistle? lol)

    • Poppy Seed says:

      Hiya Uncle Jim! Yeah those guys – all they needed were a few six packs and a can of dip to complete the stereotype. Whistle-pig is another name for groundhog or woodchuck ’cause they do make a whistling sound. And I’d like for the last thing that land-beaver ever hears is me whistling “When the Saints Come Marching In.”

      Love,
      Your Popster

  6. Dalton says:

    Hurray for not needing a baff! We has so much mud around here that I is on constant baffs

  7. raisingdaisy says:

    Woohoo! It’s always a good day when you don’t need a bath! 😀

  8. he poppy haven’t seen you in so long where have you been!!!!!! I just found yea again. You llook like you had soo much fun at the dog park little buddy!

    • Poppy Seed says:

      I had a blast! I’m trying to get Ma to post more photos – this time from Puppy Club, but she keeps falling asleep at the computer!!! 😦 I think winter is taking its toll on her 😀 You take care Kirby. We’ll be back and running soon.

      Love,
      Poppy

      • ok poppy, yea winter is a drainer!

      • oprativ says:

        Hey Poppy tell Ma I hate it when my mind says “work” but my body says “sleep”! Especially if I’m composing an email. I look up anddddddddddddddddddd I’ve dozed and my fingers have rested on the keyssssssssssssssss *uh oh*, you know what I mean? Pro duck tive. yep, you go! Ma! We love your stuff!!! And that’s after oiling the Dalek and all. No wonder she’s tired! You be good now Poppy and take care, Springtime’s right around the corner. Yep, any day now, real soon!

        • Poppy Seed says:

          The Dalek Queen takes a lot out of Ma, and not just the oil changes!!! We are looking forward to Spring. Maybe the extra light will keep Ma from waking up at 3 a.m. with the screen saver merrily showing slides from the past 3 Christmases. Thanks for your encouragement, Unc!!! :D

          ________________________________

  9. Nylabluesmum says:

    Yow Poppy you look fabulus!!!!! Me iz glad you didn’t need a bath 😉
    me iz also glad you put dat knotty doggie in itz place!!! You iz a guud poochie!!!
    Lub frum Nylablue xo

Poppy checks her pee mail daily, so bark out loud!

