Sunday Night Sidewalk Barkfest

It rained cats and dogs all weekend, and it looks like more downpours expected this week. Last evening Ma took me for our walk in between raindrops. Apparently every other human on our block with a dog shared Ma’s thoughts. I met lots of friends and a few enemies. Good thing Ma carried her mobile phone along, because you will meet a couple more of my buddies. (I apologize for Ma’s poor photography. In my excitement, I kind of jerked Ma’s hands around. Oops!)

Abby Shandy Poppy Lolly Play 1

Of course you recognize Shandy from my last post. Abby, the chocolate Labrador Retriever, is a dear friend who always stops to play with me. That little white leg belongs to Lolly, a Bichon Frise. She’s an elderly lady who managed to beat lymphoma! We are all amazed at how healthy she is. Lolly isΒ the boss of the block. Even the grumpy dogs respect her.

Abby Shandy Poppy Lolly Play 4Abby and Shandy are long time friends, but always welcome me into a friendly fray.

Abby Shandy Poppy Lolly Play 2Shandy’s off to get in some trouble. She ran toΒ a neighbor’s yard, rolled in fox poo, then ended up being dragged home for a shameful public bath on her Ma’s front lawn. The rest of us dogs decided it was past time to break up the fun and head home. We sure didn’t want our people getting ideas!

Abby Shandy Poppy Lolly Play 5Ha! Lolly runs so fast, Ma couldn’t get a clear photo of her.

Poppy Cooling OffI was so worn out I took a long drink of water and cooled off a flowerbed.

About Wayside Artist

Lost in a field ...
This entry was posted in Dogs, Humor, Pets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Night Sidewalk Barkfest

  1. Raining cats and dogs indeed πŸ™‚ Actually, I’d be rather happy to have them rain down on me

  2. raisingdaisy says:

    Wow you all certainly had a lot to say to each other! πŸ˜‰ Love that last photo of you – precious!

  3. As Granny Selma used to say, when it rains, you have to smile a little more! Looks like you had a great walk with all of your neighbors and were smiling a lot!! Gotta rush – taking Paw Licker Annie to Santa Vet…catch you later one!

  4. stanze says:

    That very fast bichon frisΓ© is nearly as cute as you. πŸ™‚

  5. Jim says:

    What a great shot of the Poppy in the flower bed! The cell phone camera is very good!

  6. Looks like you had a grand time with your friends and I love that last photo of you πŸ™‚

    • We don’t always meet up like that, but it’s a blast for everyone when we do! Thank you, I needed a cool down in the grass. You know how humid it’s been in the Mid-Atlantic region! πŸ˜‰

  7. What fun Poppy, I don’t usually see many dogs on my walks. I go to puppy day care on a Saturday so I can play with other dogs πŸ™‚ xx00xxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  8. Misaki says:

    Love you in the flower bed Poppy πŸ™‚

Poppy checks her pee mail daily, so bark out loud!

